Have Faith in Others

Written by Faith Baldwin

Belief is a happier state of mind than doubt and suspicion. By this I live, for if I don’t have faith in others, who will believe in me? I would rather believe in a thousand people, friends and strangers, and have 999 fail me than not believe. If many fail me, I remember how many I failed.

This is not to say that the blind belief of sentimentality, the so-called ‘tolerance’ of the dishonest and vicious, is sensible or rewarding. There are some dark corners which do not react to sweetness and light. Belief in people should be accomplished with open eyes and clarity of judgment. But when your judgment proves bad rather than good, it’s no reason to walk thereafter with suspicion as a companion.

None knows another’s heart, his grief, his struggle, his despair and motivation. Not all our geese become swans, but one swan atones for many flocks of geese. All men share pain and mortality; some bear these better than others. And multitudes have perished spiritually for the lack of another’s belief in them.

So, I would rather be disappointed than afraid of disappointment.

Have Faith in Others

Leave a comment